2013 US Freestyle Team – Quite a lineup!

The 2013 US Freestyle Kayak team was chosen at the USA Canoe/Kayak Freestyle Team Trials, held in tandem with the annual NOC Shootout at the Nantahala Outdoor Center April 27-28, 2013.

22 individuals will compete in twenty eight competitor spots: the number of paddlers and competitive slots are not same as there are paddlers competing in more than one class and spots are automatically given to 2011 World Champions Lauren Burress Ryan (still competing as a K1 Junior) and Dane Jackson (C1, K1 Jr, and Squirt).

Team members include other veterans Eric Jackson, Clay Wright,  Bryan Kirk, Elaine Campbell, Jeremy Laucks, Adriene Levknecht and Hayley Mills.  Jordan Poffenberger and Seth Chappelle will arrive with plenty of World Championship C boating experience, and the Junior team is going to give the world a run for US gold:  Hunter Katich, Bennett Smith, Alec Voorhees, Rowan Stuart, Kadie Kellogg  will be super exciting to watch. Elaine and Dane will be accompanied in the squirt boating effort by Clay Wright, Chris Singletary, Jeremy Laucks, Risa Shimoda, and Tracy Hines.


Eric Jackson’s qualification marks 25 years of competing as a kayaker for the USA. Dane Jackson’s performance not only qualified in four categories (K-1 Men, C-1, Squirt Men, and OC-1), but he placed first in the K-1 Men’s event.  Risa, Clay, Bryan and others has qualified over a half dozen time US Teams since the last time the Worlds were in the US, on the Ocoee River in 1993, and Clay, Bryan and others have been at the Worlds. Other returnees to the US Freestyle Team are Jeremy Laucks (Gold in OC1 in 2009, Bronze for OC1 and Squirt in 2007), Jason Craig (K1 Jr. Men World Champion in 2011), Adriene Levknecht, Hayley Mills, and Tracy Hines.

National Team members are competing out west before returning to Bryson City and site adjacent to the Nantahala Outdoor Center for the 2013 Freestyle World Championships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *